

City of Saint Paul

City Hall and Court House 15 West Kellogg Boulevard Phone: 651-266-8560

Legislation Text

File #: RES 23-1083, Version: 1

Approving the Mayor's appointment of Jonathan Banks and Tanya Velishek and reappointment of Chad Kulas, Tony Lusiba, James McClean, Yolanda McIntosh, Sheri Riemers, Chris Tolbert to the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County.

WHEREAS, the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County (WIB) is one of sixteen legislatively mandated workforce boards in Minnesota; and

WHEREAS, the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County partners with the City of Saint Paul to help maintain the economic health of Ramsey County, identify current and emerging workforce issues and needs, create partnerships to serve the needs of businesses and job seekers, and oversee publicly-funded workforce programs in Ramsey County; and

WHEREAS, the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County is a thirty-three-member advisory body made up of citizen volunteers appointed by the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners and the Mayor of Saint Paul; and

WHEREAS, Article 3 of the Ramsey County Workforce Innovation Board Bylaws state that WIB membership applications will be forwarded to the Chair of the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners for County appointments or to the Mayor of the City of Saint Paul for city appointments; and

WHEREAS, there is a current vacancy on the Workforce Innovation Board; and

WHEREAS, Jonathan Banks, President of NCXT, applied to serve as a member of the Workforce Innovation Board in a seat reserved for a business representative and is recommended for appointment by the WIB Executive Committee; and

WHEREAS, Tanya Velishek, Manager of Workforce Clinical Pathways and Partnerships at M Health Fairview, was previously appointed by the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners and is recommended for reappointment by the WIB Executive Committee, and

WHEREAS, Chad Kulas, Tony Lusiba, James McClean, Yolanda McIntosh, Sheri Riemers, and Chris Tolbert were previously appointed by Mayor Carter and approved by the City Council with the passage of RES 21-1102, and

WHEREAS, Mayor Carter wishes to reappoint Chad Kulas, Tony Lusiba, James McClean, Yolanda McIntosh, Sheri Riemers, and Chris Tolbert to a two-year term on the Workforce Innovation Board; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Melvin Carter wishes to appoint Jonathan Banks as a member of the Workforce Innovation Board for a one-year term ending July 31, 2024; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council approves the appointment of Jonathan Banks to a one-year term as a member of the Workforce Innovation Board ending July 31, 2024; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council approves the appointment of Tanya Velishek and the

F	ile	#:	RES	23-1083	, Version:	1
---	-----	----	-----	---------	------------	---

reappointment of Chad Kulas, Tony Lusiba, James McClean, Yolanda McIntosh, Sheri Riemers, and Chris Tolbert to a two-year term as members of the Workforce Innovation Board ending July 31, 2025.