

City of Saint Paul

City Hall and Court House 15 West Kellogg Boulevard Phone: 651-266-8560

Legislation Text

File #: RES 23-474, Version: 1

Approving the Mayor's appointments of Coral Garner, Dawn Einwalter, Karen Aguirre, Ibrahim Sheikh, Tashina Massey, Kovanna McPipe, Abdullahi Abdi, and Shyrisse Tisdle to the Neighborhood Safety Community Council.

[WHEREAS, Chapter 3 Sec. 3.02 of the Saint Paul Administrative code states that the Office of Neighborhood Safety (ONS), which is within the City Attorney's Office, is a community justice, equity, and safety-focused office with programs that are community-centered, equity-focused, and non-punitive where community participation is a key element of operations

WHEREAS, the Neighborhood Safety Community Council (NSCC) is a board of community members that advises the work of the Office of Neighborhood Safety; and

WHEREAS, the Neighborhood Safety Community Council (NSCC), which is under the supervision and administration of the Office of Neighborhood Safety, consists of fifteen (15) continuing members appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the Council; and

WHEREAS, terms for members appointed to the Neighborhood Safety Community Council are staggered appointments of seven (7) continuing members will serve an initial term of two (2) years, and eight (8) members will serve an initial term of three (3) years, and after the expiration of the initial terms, all members shall serve two-year terms with no person serving more than three (3) terms or a total of six (6) years, whichever is shorter; and

WHEREAS, the length of terms and limit on the number of terms for focus area members will be determined by the continuing members at the time of their appointment but may not exceed the length of terms and limit on the number of terms applicable to continuing members; and

WHEREAS, Coral Garner, Dawn Einwalter, Karen Aguirre, Ibrahim Sheikh, Tashina Massey, Kovanna McPipe, Abdullahi Abdi, and Shyrisse Tisdle have applied and are recommended by staff to serve as members of the Neighborhood Safety Community Council; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Carter wishes to appoint Coral Garner, Dawn Einwalter, Karen Aguirre, Ibrahim Sheikh, Tashina Massey, Kovanna McPipe, Abdullahi Abdi, and Shyrisse Tisdle to the Neighborhood Safety Community Council; therefore be it

File #: RES 23-474, Version: 1

RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council approves the appointment of Coral Garner, Dawn Einwalter, Karen Aguirre, and Ibrahim Sheikh to an initial two-year appointment to the Neighborhood Safety Community Council ending April 30, 2025; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, the Saint Paul City Council approves the appointment of Tashina Massey, Kovanna McPipe, Abdullahi Abdi, and Shyrisse Tisdle to a three-year initial appointment to the Neighborhood Safety Community Council with terms ending April 30, 2026.