

Legislation Text

File #: RES 22-1191, Version: 1

Approving the Mayor's reappointment of Tom Aasheim, Gaye Adams Massey, Paul Nikstad, Mary Rick, and Trish Stevens, to the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County.

WHEREAS, the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County (WIB) is one of sixteen legislatively mandated workforce boards in Minnesota; and

WHEREAS, the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County partners with the City of Saint Paul, to help maintain the economic health of Ramsey County, identify current and emerging workforce issues and needs, create partnerships to serve the needs of businesses and job seekers, and oversees publicly-funded workforce programs in Ramsey County; and

WHEREAS, the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County is a thirty-three-member advisory body made up of citizen volunteers appointed by the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners and the Mayor of Saint Paul; and

WHEREAS, Article 3 of the Ramsey County Workforce Innovation Board Bylaws state that WIB membership applications are forwarded to the Chair of the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners for County appointments or to the Mayor of the City of Saint Paul for City appointments; and

WHEREAS, Tom Aasheim, Gaye Adams Massey, Paul Nikstad, Mary Rick, and Trish Stevens, are current members of the Workforce Innovation Board and are seeking reappointment; and

WHEREAS, Workforce Innovation Board Executive Committee recommends the reappointment of Tom Aasheim, Gaye Adams Massey, Paul Nikstad, Mary Rick, and Trish Stevens; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Melvin Carter wishes to reappoint Tom Aasheim, Gaye Adams Massey, Paul Nikstad, Mary Rick, and Trish Stevens, as members of the Workforce Innovation Board; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council approves the reappointment of Tom Aasheim, Gaye Adams Massey, Paul Nikstad, Mary Rick, and Trish Stevens, as members of the Workforce Innovation Board for a term commencing August 01, 2022 and ending July 31, 2024.