

Legislation Text

File #: RES 21-1646, Version: 2

Establishing the Saint Paul Garbage Advisory Committee. (Laid over from December 1.)

WHEREAS, the creation of the Saint Paul Garbage Advisory Committee was recommended in the Mayor's presentation to City Council during the first annual rate negotiations with the City and St. Paul Haulers, LLC; and

WHEREAS, the Saint Paul Garbage Advisory Committee will be made up of up to 20 members who are recommended by the Mayor and approved by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Saint Paul Garbage Advisory Committee will advise the Department of Public Works staff who will report to the Mayor and City Council on future solid waste policies and programs, ensuring that the needs and challenges of the City's residents are considered; and

WHEREAS, City staff has assembled a list of Saint Paul residents who wish to be involved in conversations about future solid waste policies and programs; and

WHEREAS, the persons listed below applied to serve on the Saint Paul Garbage Advisory Committee; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Melvin Carter wishes to appoint these persons to the Saint Paul Garbage Advisory Committee; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, the Mayor establishes the Saint Paul Garbage Advisory Committee effective November 15, 2021; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council approves the appointment of the persons listed below to serve as members of the Saint Paul Garbage Advisory Committee; and be it finally

RESOLVED, that the members of the Saint Paul Garbage Advisory Committee will serve no more than two (2) years at which point the Committee will dissolve. Persons who are recommended to service on the Ad Hoc Garbage Advisory Group are:

Sarah Axtmann	Ward 5
Gary Brown	Ward 7
Robin Graham	Ward 6
Linda Huber	Ward 4
Scott Jensen	Ward 4
Bruce Johnson	Ward 7
Jessica Kliche	Ward 2
Alisa Lein	Ward 3
Celest Marin	Ward 5

File #: RES 21-1646, Version: 2

Javonna McCoy-Barber	Ward 6
Chris Nagel	Ward 3
Drew Nelson	Ward 3
Rosemary O'Brien	Ward 4
Gabriele PillIman	Ward 1
Gloria Penaloza Ruiz	Ward 5
Andrew Rorvig	Ward 2
Angela Simons	Ward 1
Nayta Thawtrue	Ward 7