

City of Saint Paul

City Hall and Court House 15 West Kellogg Boulevard Phone: 651-266-8560

Legislation Text

File #: RES 21-755, Version: 1

Approving the Mayor's appointments of Nonkululeko Shongwe, Krystle Igbo-Ogbonna, Mala Thao, Jennifer Thorson, Amane Badhasso, and Naomi Alemseged to the Human Rights and Equal Economic Opportunity Commission.

WHEREAS, Saint Paul Legislative Code Section 183.19 (1) states that the Human Rights and Equal Economic Opportunity Commission consists of twenty-one (21) members appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the Council; and

WHEREAS, there are eight open seats on the Human Rights and Equal Economic Opportunity Commission; and

WHEREAS, the Human Rights and Equal Economic Opportunity commissioners and department staff have reviewed applications and conducted interviews of interested applicants; and

WHEREAS, Human Rights and Equal Economic Opportunity leadership have recommended Nonkululeko Shongwe, Krystle Igbo-Ogbonna, Mala Thao, Jennifer Thorson, Amane Badhasso, and Naomi Alemseged for appointment as commissioners; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Carter wishes to appoint Nonkululeko Shongwe, Krystle Igbo-Ogbonna, Mala Thao, Jennifer Thorson, Amane Badhasso, and Naomi Alemseged to the Human Rights and Equal Employment Opportunity Commission for three-year terms ending on June 1, 2024; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council consents to the appointment Nonkululeko Shongwe, Krystle Igbo -Ogbonna, Mala Thao, Jennifer Thorson, Amane Badhasso, and Naomi Alemseged to the Human Rights and Equal Employment Opportunity Commission for three-year terms ending on June 1, 2024.