

City of Saint Paul

City Hall and Court House 15 West Kellogg Boulevard Phone: 651-266-8560

Legislation Text

File #: RES 21-72, Version: 1

Approving the Mayor's appointments of Adri Arquin, Kathleen Bacigalupi, Paul Barral, Marlon Batres, Robert Blake, Patty Born Selly, Dominique Diaddigo-Cash, Nick Martin, Louis Offstein, Kristen Poppleton, Audel Shokohzadeh, Cheng Vang, Alice Wagner-Hemstad, Janiece Watts, Melissa Wenzel, and May Yang-Lee to the Saint Paul Climate Justice Advisory Board.

WHEREAS, the creation of the Climate Justice Advisory Board was recommended in the Saint Paul Climate Action and Resilience Plan, adopted by City Council in December 2019, and the Board was established by resolution 20-999 of the Saint Paul City Council; and

WHEREAS, RES 20-999 requires that the Climate Justice Advisory Board be made up of 13-17 members who will be recommended by the Mayor and approved by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, RES 20-999 requires that of the members, at least one will reside in each of the 7 Wards, and that at least 2 seats will be reserved for youth representatives (14-19 years old), one (1) seat for a representative of the building/construction trades, one (1) seat for a representative from the business community, and one (1) seat for a representative of academia; and

WHEREAS, the Climate Justice Advisory Board will advise the Mayor and City Council on the best ways to make future climate action policies and programs as equitable as possible, ensuring that the needs and challenges of the City's most vulnerable residents are reflected; and

WHEREAS, Adri Arquin, Kathleen Bacigalupi, Paul Barral, Marlon Batres, Robert Blake, Patty Born Selly, Dominique Diaddigo-Cash, Nick Martin, Louis Offstein, Kristen Poppleton, Audel Shokohzadeh, Cheng Vang, Alice Wagner-Hemstad, Janiece Watts, Melissa Wenzel, and May Yang-Lee applied to serve on the Climate Justice Advisory Board; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Melvin Carter wishes to appoint Adri Arquin, Kathleen Bacigalupi, Paul Barral, Marlon Batres, Robert Blake, Patty Born Selly, Dominique Diaddigo-Cash, Nick Martin, Louis Offstein, Kristen Poppleton, Audel Shokohzadeh, Cheng Vang, Alice Wagner-Hemstad, Janiece Watts, Melissa Wenzel, and May Yang-Lee to the Climate Justice Advisory Board; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council approves the appointment of Adri Arquin (youth), Kathleen Bacigalupi (youth), Alice Wagner-Hemstad (youth), Paul Barral (Ward 2), Marlon Batres, Robert Blake (Ward 5), Louis Offstein and May Yang-Lee to 2-year terms commencing February 1, 2021 and ending January 31, 2023, and Patty Born Selly (academia), Dominique Diaddigo-Cash (Ward 4), Nick Martin (business), Kristen Poppleton, Audel Shokohzadeh (Ward 3), Cheng Vang (Ward 6), Janiece Watts (Ward 1), and Melissa Wenzel (Ward 7), to 3-year terms as members of the Climate Justice Advisory Board commencing February 1, 2021 and ending January 31, 2024.