

City of Saint Paul

City Hall and Court House 15 West Kellogg Boulevard Phone: 651-266-8560

Legislation Text

File #: RES 20-1008, Version: 1

Approving the Mayor's reappointments of Larry Gilbertson, Kristin Guild, Gaye Adams Massey, Paul Nikstad, and Sheila Olson to the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County.

WHEREAS, the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County (WIB) is one of 16 legislatively mandated Workforce Boards in Minnesota; and

WHEREAS, the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County partners with the City of Saint Paul, to help maintain the economic health of Ramsey County, identify current and emerging workforce issues and needs, create partnerships to serve the needs of businesses and job seekers, oversee publicly-funded workforce programs in Ramsey County; and

WHEREAS, the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County is a 33-member advisory body made up of citizen volunteers appointed by the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners and the Mayor of Saint Paul; and

WHEREAS, Article 3 of the Ramsey County Workforce Innovation Board Bylaws state that WIB membership applications will be forwarded to the Chair of the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners for County appointments or to the Mayor of the City of Saint Paul for City appointments.

WHEREAS, of Larry Gilbertson, Kristin Guild, Gaye Adams Massey, Paul Nikstad, and Sheila Olson applied to serve as Workforce Innovation Board and is recommended for appointment by Sean Mullan and Chad Kulas; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Melvin Carter wishes to reappoint Larry Gilbertson, Kristin Guild, Gaye Adams Massey, Paul Nikstad, Sheila Olson, as a member of the Workforce Innovation Board; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council approves the appointment of Larry Gilbertson, Kristin Guild, Gaye Adams Massey, Paul Nikstad, and Sheila Olson, to a two-year term as a member of the Workforce Innovation Board commencing August 1, 2020 and ending July 31, 2022.