

City of Saint Paul

City Hall and Court House 15 West Kellogg Boulevard Phone: 651-266-8560

Legislation Text

File #: RES 20-225, Version: 1

Approving the Mayor's appointments of Janessa Marquette, James Thayer, James Wilkinson, Kaliah Linear, Muria Kruger, and Eva Wailes to the Human Rights and Equal Economic Opportunity Commission.

WHEREAS, Saint Paul Legislative Code Section 183.19 (1) states that the Human Rights and Equal Economic Opportunity Commission consists of twenty-one (21) members appointed by the mayor with the consent of the council; and

WHEREAS, due to a combination of expired terms and resignations, there are 10 open seats on the Human Rights and Equal Economic Opportunity Commission; and

WHEREAS, Human Rights and Equal Economic Opportunity department staff and commissioners have reviewed applications and conducted interviews of interested applicants; and

WHEREAS, Human Rights and Equal Economic Opportunity leadership have recommended Janessa Marquette, James Thayer, James Wilkinson, Kaliah Linear, Muria Kruger, and Eva Wailes for appointment as commissioners; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Carter wishes to appoint Janessa Marquette, James Thayer, James Wilkinson, Kaliah Linear, Muria Kruger, and Eva Wailes to the Human Rights and Equal Employment Opportunity Commission for their first three-year terms beginning on February 1, 2020 and ending on January 31, 2022; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council consents to the appointment Janessa Marquette, James Thayer, James Wilkinson, Kaliah Linear, Muria Kruger, and Eva Wailes to the Human Rights and Equal Employment Opportunity Commission for their first three-year terms beginning on January 1, 2019 and ending on December 31, 2021.