

City of Saint Paul

City Hall and Court House 15 West Kellogg Boulevard Phone: 651-266-8560

Legislation Text

File #: RES 20-211, Version: 1

Approving the Mayor's appointments of Michelle Benson, Emma Burns, and Maureen Smith to the Visit Saint Paul Board of Directors.

WHEREAS, the Article IV, Section 1 of the bylaws of Visit Saint Paul states that the Board of Directors shall include ten "mayoral directors" designated by the Mayor of the City of Saint Paul with the approval of the members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the terms for Joe Nayquonable, Dianne Krizan, Liz Xiong, Wade Luneburg, John Marshall, Tim Flynn, Erin Dady, and Rena Moran ended as of December 31, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Joe Nayquonabe, Dianne Krizan, Liz Xiong, Wade Luneburg, John Marshall, and Tim Flynn have expressed interest in being appointed to new terms on the board;

WHEREAS, Jaime Tincher will resign from her seat on the Visit Saint Paul Board of Directors as of January 31, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Maureen Smith, Emma Burns, and Michelle Benson have applied to serve on the Visit Saint Paul Board of Directors; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor wishes to appoint Maureen Smith, Emma Burns, and Michelle Benson to serve in the three seats on the board that will be vacant as of January 31, 2020; and

WHEREAS, in 2019 the Visit Saint Paul Board of Directors amended their bylaws to establish a limit for appointments of two terms lasting two years with staggered board terms; now there be it

RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council approves the appointment of Michelle Benson to the Visit Saint Paul Board of Directors for a term on ending on December 31, 2023; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council approves the appointment of Emma Burns to the Visit Saint Paul Board of Directors for a term ending on December 31, 2022; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council approves the appointment of Maureen Smith to the Visit Saint Paul Board of Directors for a term ending on December 31, 2021.