

Legislation Text

File #: RES 18-1268, Version: 1

Approving the Mayor's reappointments of Larry Gilbertson, Kristin Guild, Butch Howard, Paul Nikstad, Sheila Olson, and Jennifer Roettger to two-year terms on the Workforce Innovation Board.

WHEREAS, local workforce development boards are required entities under the federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act to provide oversight for the public workforce system; and

WHEREAS, The Workforce Investment Board is made up of thirty-three (33) members representing Business, Community-Based Organizations, One-Stop Workforce Center Partners, Labor, Economic Development, Education, and Elected Officials; and

WHEREAS, in RES 16-1348, Butch Howard, Sheila Olson, and Larry Gilbertson were re-appointed by Mayor Coleman with the consent of the council to serve their second two-year terms as members of the Workforce Innovation Board with terms ending July 31, 2018; and

WHEREAS, in RES 17-452, Kristin Guild and Jennifer Roetger was appointed by Mayor Coleman with the consent of the council to serve the remainder of the two-year terms expiring July 31, 2018 for the seats on the Workforce Innovation Board vacated by Amy Filice and Robert de la Vega; and

WHEREAS, in RES 17-1212, Paul Nikstad was appointed by Mayor Coleman with the consent of the council to serve the remainder of the two-year term expiring July 31, 2018 for the seat on the Workforce Innovation Board vacated by David MacKenzie; and

WHEREAS, Larry Gilbertson, Kristin Guild, Butch Howard, Paul Nikstad, Sheila Olson, and Jennifer Roettger have been recommended by the Workforce Innovation Executive Committee for reappointment; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Carter wishes to reappoint Larry Gilbertson, Kristin Guild, Butch Howard, Paul Nikstad, Sheila Olson, and Jennifer Roettger to the Workforce Innovation Board to two- year terms beginning on August 1, 2018 and ending on July 31, 2020; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council consents to the reappointment of Larry Gilbertson, Kristin Guild, Butch Howard, Paul Nikstad, Sheila Olson, and Jennifer Roettger to the Workforce Innovation Board to twoyear terms beginning on August 1, 2018 and ending on July 31, 2020.