

City of Saint Paul

City Hall and Court House 15 West Kellogg Boulevard Phone: 651-266-8560

Legislation Text

File #: RES 18-1164, Version: 1

Approving the Mayor's reappointment of John Bennet and Nneka Constantino to their third six-year terms as Saint Paul Port Authority Commissioners

WHEREAS, Minnesota State Statute 469.050 (Subdivision 1) states that the Saint Paul Port Authority consists of seven (7) commissioners, two of whom must be members of the city council, appointed by the mayor with the consent of the council; and

WHEREAS, in RES 12-1300, Nneka Constantino (nee Morgan) and John Bennett were appointed by Mayor Coleman with the consent of the council to serve their second six-year terms as commissioners with terms ending July 4, 2018; and

WHEREAS, John Bennett currently serves as the chair of the Saint Paul Port Authority and both John Bennett and Nneka Constantino have expressed interest in continuing to serve as Saint Paul Port Authority Commissioners; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Carter wishes to reappoint John Bennett and Nneka Constantino to the Saint Paul Port Authority to their third six-year terms ending on July 30, 2024; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council consents to the reappointment of John Bennett and Nneka Constantino to three six-year terms ending July 30, 2024 as commissioners on the Saint Paul Port Authority.