

Legislation Text

## File #: RES 15-719, Version: 1

Honoring the recipients of the 2015 Sustainable Saint Paul Awards.

WHEREAS, the City of Saint Paul has a long history of proactively protecting our air, water and urban landscape; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Coleman and the City Council are committed to making Saint Paul *The Most Livable City in America* and a leader in sustainable urban living; and

WHEREAS, the City has already taken many steps toward making Saint Paul one of the greenest cities in the country; and

WHEREAS, the City initiated the Sustainable Saint Paul Awards to honor outstanding achievements of individuals, businesses and organizations that are demonstrating a commitment to environmental stewardship throughout Saint Paul and beyond; and

WHEREAS, by sponsoring these awards, the City hopes to encourage all residents, businesses, community groups and nonprofits in Saint Paul to implement similar projects, such that replication of these efforts will further enhance the City's quality of life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Mayor and Council of the City of Saint Paul do hereby make the following 2015 Sustainable Saint Paul Awards:

- · Beautification Payne Phalen Pocket Parks
- Energy Efficiency and Conservation Science Museum of Minnesota Project No Waste
- Environmental Education Face to Face
- Environmental Education Environmental Inquiry Immersion
- Exceptional Environmental Stewards Chuck and Hope Lea
- Green Practices Saint Paul RiverCentre/Xcel Energy Center
- · Green Products Bang Brewing
- · Local, Healthy Food Urban Organics
- Sustainable City Staff Kurt Schultz
- · Waste Reduction and Recycling Express Bike Shop
- Water Quality Tri Area Block Club
- · Youth Leadership Award Frogtown Crew