

City of Saint Paul

City Hall and Court House 15 West Kellogg Boulevard Phone: 651-266-8560

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: RES 22-1322 Version: 1

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

In control: City Council

Final action: 9/7/2022

Title: Approving the Mayor's reappointment of Hannah Hills to the Capital Area Architectural and Planning

Board.

Sponsors: Amy Brendmoen

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
9/9/2022	1	Mayor's Office	Signed	
9/7/2022	1	City Council	Adopted	Pass

Approving the Mayor's reappointment of Hannah Hills to the Capital Area Architectural and Planning Board.

WHEREAS, the Capital Area Architectural and Planning Board was first established as a Commission created by the 1967 Minnesota State Legislature. CAAPB's primary statutory responsibilities are to prepare a comprehensive plan for the Capitol Area; and

Whereas, The statutory purpose for the Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board, hereafter referred to as the CAAPB or the Board, is to: 1) Preserve and enhance the dignity, beauty, and architectural integrity of the Capitol, the buildings immediately adjacent to it, the Capitol grounds, and the Capitol Area, 2) Protect, enhance, and increase the open spaces within the Capitol Area when deemed necessary and desirable for the improvement of public enjoyment, 3) Develop proper approaches to the Capitol Area for pedestrian movement, the highway system, and the mass transit system so that the area achieves its maximum importance and accessibility, 4) Establish a flexible framework for the growth of the Capitol Area that will be in keeping with the spirit of the original Cass Gilbert design; and

WHEREAS, the Capital Area Architectural and Planning Board is responsible for architecture, urban design, and comprehensive land-use planning in the capitol area of St. Paul, exercises zoning and design review authority, and oversees the redevelopment of the north capitol area; and

WHEREAS, the Capital Area Architectural and Planning Board is comprised of 12 members; By Statute 15B.03 Subdivision 1., the Board has twelve members and is chaired by the Lieutenant Governor. There are four members appointed by the Governor, three members appointed by the Mayor of Saint Paul, two members appointed by the President of the Senate, two members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; and

WHEREAS, Hannah Hills, a resident of CAAPB planning district, has applied to serve as a member of the Capital Area Architectural and Planning Board; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Melvin Carter wishes to reappoint Hannah Hills to Capital Area Architectural and Planning Board; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council approves the reappointment of Hannah Hills to a four-year term

File	#:	RES 22-1	322,	Version:	1
------	----	-----------------	------	----------	---

on Capital Area Architectural and Planning Board ending August 31, 2028.