

City of Saint Paul

City Hall and Court House 15 West Kellogg Boulevard Phone: 651-266-8560

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: RES 19-35 Version: 1

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

In control: City Council

Final action: 1/2/2019

Title: Approving the Mayor's reappointments of Melissa Finnegan, John Schumacher, Jim Stahlmann, and

David Washington to four-year terms on the Neighborhood STAR Board.

Sponsors: Amy Brendmoen

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/7/2019	1	Mayor's Office	Signed	
1/2/2019	1	City Council	Adopted	Pass

Approving the Mayor's reappointments of Melissa Finnegan, John Schumacher, Jim Stahlmann, and David Washington to four-year terms on the Neighborhood STAR Board.

WHEREAS, Minnesota Law 377, Article 3, Section 21, Subdivision 2 states that the Neighborhood STAR Board consists of three residents from each of the seven city council wards, for a total of 21 members and that the mayor must appoint the members subject to confirmation by a majority vote of the city council, and WHEREAS, on December 17, 2014 the Saint Paul City Council passed RES 14-2179 approving Mayor Chris Coleman's reappointment of Jon Schumacher to a second term on the Neighborhood STAR Board for a term ending December 31, 2018; and

WHEREAS, on January 14, 2015 the Saint Paul City Council passed RES 15-110 approving Mayor Chris Coleman's appointment of Jim Stahlmann to the Neighborhood STAR Board for a term ending December 31, 2018:

WHEREAS, on November 6, 2017 the Saint Paul City Council passed RES 17-1339 approving Mayor Chris Coleman's appointment of David Washington to the Capital Improvement Budget Committee for a term ending December 31, 2018; and

WHEREAS, on December 6, 2017 the Saint Paul City Council passed RES 17-1861 approving Mayor Chris Coleman's appointment of Melissa Finnegan to the Capital Improvement Budget Committee for a term ending December 31, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Melissa Finnegan, John Schumacher, Jim Stahlmann, and David Washington have all expressed interest in being reappointed as members of the Neighborhood STAR Board; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Carter wishes to reappoint Melissa Finnegan, John Schumacher, Jim Stahlmann, and David Washington a three-year term on the Neighborhood STAR Board ending on December 31, 2021; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council consents to the reappointment of Melissa Finnegan, John Schumacher, Jim Stahlmann, and David Washington to a four-year term ending December 31, 2022 as members of the Neighborhood STAR Board.