October 18, 2021

Saint Paul City Council 15 Kellogg Blvd. West, 310 City Hall Saint Paul, MN 55102

Dear Council President Brendmoen and Council Members:

The Saint Paul Youth Commission met with the Association for Non Smokers-MN (ANSR) several times this year and learned that the tobacco industry has a history of targeting youth and marginalized communities with tobacco marketing tactics like price discounting. Internal documents that were uncovered during the 1998 US Master Agreement Settlement revealed the tobacco industry's marketing research, strategies, and push to get youth, Black people, and low-income communities hooked to their addictive products. Today, Black, Indigenous, and communities of color, LGBTQ people, and low-income communities experience disproportionate tobacco-related health disparities. Additionally, researchers have found that Minnesota nonsmokers who receive tobacco coupons are two times more likely to become smokers and 1 out of 3 adult smokers use tobacco coupons or discounts every time they see one.

We do not agree with the practices of the tobacco industry. We also care deeply for the health and well-being of our family, peers, and community and that is why we support the new proposed tobacco ordinance. We are asking you to vote, YES, to protecting the health of youth and community members in Saint Paul.

"Tobacco is very harmful to the health of people and communities. This ordinance would be a step in the right direction to help stop the harms that tobacco causes, by lessening its prevalence." Commissioner Chijioke

"I support the new proposed tobacco ordinance because not only will it get nicotine out of adult and youth hands, but it will help prevent future generations from becoming addicted to tobacco." Commissioner Johnson

"Having a family who has had addiction to smoking and use of tobacco, along with health problems that are worsened by the use of tobacco and second smoke, I agree with this ordinance." Commissioner Foster

Sincerely,

The Saint Paul Youth Commission

Absir W. Ali Aidan Riehl Anna-Marie Foster Antonio Enrique Rosell Calla Massari Chikamso Chijioke Chineze Okolo Dej Chia Katie Chang DeJuan Martez Edwards Jr. Everlyn Balvoa Granda Grace Philippon Henry Evenson Megan R. Haas Olivia Miller Paul Nguyen
Pria Stauning
Sayidah Bussey
Sophia Josephine Klepp
Suwayda Hussein
Tage Shetty Johnson