

SUMMIT-UNIVERSITY PLANNING COUNCIL

Board of Directors 2016/2017

Chair Amy Michael

Vice Chair Angela Burns

Secretary Megan Jaunich

Treasurer Katrina Mosser

Chair, Neighborhood Development Jean Schroepfer

Chair, Communications and Outreach Rebecca Airmet

Chair, Community Improvement and Safety Ross Callahan

Steve Wilson Hallie Q. Brown

Ginny Martin Unity Church Unitarian Donna Evans ASANDC

Audrey Park AEDA

Judith Tande Ramsey Hill Association

Mary Morris

Martin Lorenz-Meyer

Dianne Moore

Daria Caldwell

Ibrahim Kamia

Trahern Crews

Marvin Scroggins

Elizabeth Wagoner

Mae Adams

Katrina Mosser

Jerrie Beecham

12/17/2016

Council Member Dai Thao Ward 1 Office 310-A City Hall 15 Kellogg Blvd. West Saint Paul, MN 55102

Dear Members of the Saint Paul City Council,

The Summit-University Planning Council (District 8) fully supports removing police officers from the Police Civilian Internal Affairs Review Commission. The Board of Directors voted in favor of this position at the December 6, 2016 board meeting.

We urge the Members of the Saint Paul City Council to listen to the people of Saint Paul, who have clearly stated that they do not want police officers to be on the PCIARC. There's been two audits and community conversations that recommend this change as well. You are presented with a tremendous opportunity to stand beside your community and support their voices.

So many people showed up for the community conversations regarding this issue. You know from experience that people don't show up in those numbers unless it is something very important. If we are going to ask people to participate in City issues and have these difficult conversations, we have to value what they say. Listen to our communities, we need this change.

Thank you for your time, consideration, and all of the work you do for our City,

Jens Werner
Executive Director
Summit-University Planning Council
627 Selby Ave Suite A
Saint Paul, MN 55102