## MINUTES OF THE ZONING COMMITTEE

Thursday, June 30, 2011 - 3:30 p.m. City Council Chambers, 3rd Floor City Hall and Court House 15 West Kellogg Boulevard

PRESENT: Commers, Kramer, Nelson, Spaulding, and Wickiser ABSENT: Fernandez, Merrigan (excused), Wencl (excused)

STAFF: Lucy Thompson, Samantha Langer, Patricia James, and Peter Warner

The meeting was chaired by Commissioner Kramer.

Victoria Park Master Plan Modification - 11-239-001 - Major modification of the Victoria Park Master Plan, 852 Hathaway St, area bounded by 35E, Shepard Rd, Otto, and Adrian St.

Lucy Thompson presented the staff report with a recommendation of approval. Ms. Thompson stated District 9 recommends approval. There were no letters in support or opposition.

Upon inquiry from the Commissioners, Ms. Thompson explained that on the maps provided in the packet, the remaining I3 zoning located next to the proposed T3 zoning is an error in the mapping program. Ms. James explained that notification of the plan modifications was sent to property owners within 350 feet of the outside boundary of the land covered by the Victoria Park Master Plan. Ms. Thompson confirmed that future use of the land formerly owned by Exxon is restricted to park space.

Don Ganje, City of Saint Paul Department of Parks and Recreation, spoke in support. Mr. Ganje stated the Department supports both the rezoning and master plan modifications. He explained they have been working with the community to get input on the design of the park.

No one spoke in opposition.

The public hearing was closed.

Commissioner Gaius Nelson moved denial of the Master Plan modifications, stating that Finding #8 has not been met, because closing two one-block street segments, required for the proposed location of Nova Academy, would create a larger block than recommended in the master plan and would block views of the river valley. The motion failed for lack of a second.

Commissioner Jon Commers moved approval of the rezoning. Commissioner Bob Spaulding seconded the motion.

The motion passed by a vote of 3-1-1.

Adopted	Yeas - 3	Nays - 1 (Nelson)	Abstained - 1 (Wickiser)
Drafted by:	Submitted by:		Approved by:
Samantha Langer Recording Secretary	•	Thompson	Richard Kramer Chair