HOUSING AND REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF THE CITY OF SAINT PAUL, MINNESOTA

REPORT TO THE COMMISSIONERS

DATE: JUNE 4, 2025

REGARDING:

RESOLUTION APPROVING THE NOMINATION OF THE CHAIR OF THE BOARD OF THE HOUSING AND REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF THE CITY **OF** SAINT TO PAUL, MINNESOTA THE

MINNEAPOLIS/SAINT PAUL HOUSING FINANCE BOARD.

Requested Board Action

Background

Established in 1984 through a Joint Powers Agreement, the Minneapolis/Saint Paul Housing Finance Board ("The Joint Board") was created to jointly administer housing-related programs between the two cities. These programs have included single-family ownership programs as well as the Low-Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) program.

The Joint Board includes 3 councilmembers from the City of Minneapolis and 3 commissioners from the Housing and Redevelopment Authority of the City of Saint Paul, Minnesota (HRA), also referred to as "Voting Members."

Current HRA voting members include Commissioners Rebecca Noecker and HwaJeong Kim. Due to the resignation of HRA Commissioner Mitra Jalali, the HRA must nominate a HRA Commissioner as a third voting member on the Joint Board to replace Commissioner Jalali.

Budget Action

N/A

Recommendation:

The HRA Executive Director recommends the approval of the nomination of HRA Board Chair Cheniqua Johnson to the Minneapolis/Saint Paul Housing Finance Board.

Sponsored by: Rebecca Noecker

Staff: Jules Atangana (651-266-6660)