

# **City of Saint Paul**

City Hall and Court House 15 West Kellogg Boulevard 651-266-8560

## **Meeting Minutes**

## **Charter Commission**

Jesse William Busta
Acooa Ellis
Jon Fure
Michael Hahm
Chai Lee
Cosandra Lloyd
Garrison McMurtrey
Deborah Montgomery
Joe Spencer
John Stiles
Maisue Thao
Darren Tobolt
Erica Valliant
Rick Varco
Carrie Wasley

Thursday, December 12, 2024

3:00 PM

Room 40, City Hall

#### **ROLL CALL**

Present 15 - Deborah Montgomery, Carrie Wasley, Jesse William Busta, Rick Varco, Jon Fure, Maisue Thao, Darren Tobolt, Michael Hahm, Chai Lee, Garrison McMurtrey, Cosandra Lloyd, Erica Valliant, Acooa Ellis, Joe Spencer, and John Stiles

#### **APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES**

CCI 24-9

Approving the November 26, 2024 Charter Commission meeting minutes.

Commissioner Stiles moved approval of the minutes, seconded by Commissioner Lee. A voice was taken. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.

Yea: 12 - Wasley, William Busta, Varco, Fure, Thao, Tobolt, Hahm, Lee,

McMurtrey, Lloyd, Valliant, and Stiles

Nay: 0

Absent: 3 - Montgomery, Ellis, and Spencer

### **CITIZEN COMMENTS**

#### REPORTS OF THE STANDING COMMITTEE

#### **UNFINISHED BUSINESS**

#### **CCI 24-8**

Recommending the amendment to Chapter 6.03.1 of the Saint Paul Charter pertaining to the imposition of civil penalties for violations of city ordinances.

Commissioner Montgomery arrives at 3:10 PM.

A public hearing was held; four members of the public spoke, three in favor, one opposed. Chair Varco closed the public hearing.

Commissioner Spencer arrives at 3:40 PM.

Safety and Inspections Directo Angie Wiese, Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Deputy Director Beth Commers, Public Works Director Sean Kershaw, Assistant City Attorney Megan Hafner, and City Council Chief Budget Officer/Interim Director Jay Willms presented additional material to the Commission.

Commissioner Ellis arrives at 4:15 PM.

Commissioners discussed the resolution and asked questions to city staff.

Commissioner Lee moved approval of the item, seconded by Commissioner Tobolt. Commissioners had an additional opportunity to share their thoughts on the item or how they were considering voting.

A roll call vote was taken. The resolution passed by a 12-3 vote, Commissioners Llyod, Montgomery, and Thao voted in opposition.

**Yea:** 12 - Wasley, William Busta, Varco, Fure, Tobolt, Hahm, Lee, McMurtrey, Valliant, Ellis, Spencer, and Stiles

Nay: 3 - Montgomery, Thao, and Lloyd

## **NEW BUSINESS**

#### **OTHER BUSINESS**

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

For more information call 651-266-8560 or email CharterCommission@ci.stpaul.mn.us.