

Legislation Text

## File #: RES 22-1549, Version: 1

Establishing the Saint Paul City Council Early Learning Legislative Advisory Committee

WHEREAS, the Saint Paul City Council adopted Resolution 22-1183 on July 27, 2022 committing to strengthening families, education, and the workforce through the exploration of early care and education accessibility; and

WHEREAS, Resolution 22-1183 outlined the need for early care and education for Saint Paul's youngest children; and

WHEREAS, Resolution 22-1183 committed to the establishment of an Early Learning Legislative Advisory Committee by September 28, 2022; and

WHEREAS, Resolution 22-1183 empowered the Committee to make recommendations to the City Council on the potential design and implementation of a locally governed early learning program, to explore funding options, and, if appropriate, to propose legislation that would effectuate and codify the Program; and

WHEREAS, the City Council seeks to establish a Committee reflective of Saint Paul with diverse membership representing multiple perspectives; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, the Saint Paul City Council will provide professional and clerical staff support to the work of the Early Learning Legislative Advisory Committee; and be it further

RESOLVED that the City Council hereby appoints the following members to the Early Learning Legislative Advisory Committee:

Maria Belde

Rachel Boettcher

Lynne Bolton, Saint Paul Federation of Teachers

Eric Haugee

Halla Henderson, Saint Paul School Board

Mitra Jalali, Saint Paul City Council

## File #: RES 22-1549, Version: 1

Megan Jekot, Saint Paul Promise Neighborhood
Hwa Jeong Kim, Minnesota Voice
LaVon Lee, American Indian Montessori
Nicolee Mensing, Head Start
Camila Mercado Michelli, CLUES
Kristenza Nelson
Rebecca Noecker, Saint Paul City Council
Khalid Omar, ISAIAH
Kera Peterson, Regional Labor Federation
Tracy Roscoe, ISAIAH
Clare Sanford, Minnesota Child Care Association
Sai Thao, Hmong Early Childhood Coalition
Stephanie Thomas, Minnesota Child Care Association
Brianna Trinidad Sprung
Leah VanDassor, Saint Paul Federation of Teachers
Zang Vang-Lee, Hmong Early Childhood Coalition
Quentin Wathum-Ocama, Saint Paul Public Schools, Office of Early Learning
Nelsie Yang, Saint Paul City Council
Barbara Yates, Think Small