

City of Saint Paul

City Hall and Court House 15 West Kellogg Boulevard Phone: 651-266-8560

Legislation Text

File #: RES 20-1763, Version: 1

Approving the Mayor's appointments of Thomas Aasheim, Robert Blake Chris Duffy, Yolanda McIntosh, and Trish Stevens to the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County.

WHEREAS, the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County (WIB) is one of 16 legislatively mandated Workforce Boards in Minnesota; and

WHEREAS, the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County partners with the City of Saint Paul, to help maintain the economic health of Ramsey County, identify current and emerging workforce issues and needs, create partnerships to serve the needs of businesses and job seekers, oversee publicly-funded workforce programs in Ramsey County; and

WHEREAS, the Workforce Innovation Board of Ramsey County is a 33-member advisory body made up of citizen volunteers appointed by the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners and the Mayor of Saint Paul; and

WHEREAS, Article 3 of the Ramsey County Workforce Innovation Board Bylaws state that WIB membership applications will be forwarded to the Chair of the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners for County appointments or to the Mayor of the City of Saint Paul for City appointments; and

WHEREAS, Thomas Aasheim, Robert Blake Chris Duffy, Yolanda McIntosh, and Trish Stevens applied to serve as members on the Workforce Innovation Board; and

WHEREAS, Thomas Aasheim has applied to replace Larry Gilbertson of Ironworkers Local 512, and is to represent Labor on the Workforce Innovation Board for a term ending July 31, 2022; and WHEREAS, Robert Blake has applied to represent Business on the Workforce Innovation Board, an additional city appointment, for a term ending July 31, 2022; and

WHEREAS, Chris Duffy has applied to represent Butch Howard of HMSHost, and is to represent Business on the Workforce Innovation Board for a term ending July 31, 2022; and

WHEREAS, Yolanda McIntosh has applied to replace Anivuin Xiong of Atman Law Firm and is to represent Business on the Workforce Innovation Board for a term ending July 31, 2021; and

WHEREAS, Trish Stevens has applied to replace Jennifer Roettger of Fairview Health and is to represent Business on the Workforce Innovation Board for a term ending July 31, 2022; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Melvin Carter wishes to appoint Thomas Aasheim, Robert Blake Chris Duffy, Yolanda McIntosh, and Trish Stevens applied to serve as members on the Workforce Innovation Board; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council approves the appointment of Yolanda McIntosh to a term as a member of the Workforce Innovation Board with a term ending on July 31, 2021, and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Saint Paul City Council approves the appointments of Thomas Aasheim, Robert Blake Chris Duffy, and Trish Stevens to a term as members of the Workforce Innovation Board with a term ending on July 31, 2022.

File #: RES 20-1763, Version: 1