

City of Saint Paul

City Hall and Court House 15 West Kellogg Boulevard Phone: 651-266-8560

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: RES 21-1823 **Version**: 1

Type: Resolution Status: Passed

In control: City Council
Final action: 12/22/2021

Title: Approving the Mayor's appointments of Linda White, Heaven Webb, Andrea Zuber, Michael Dahl,

Christine Cordell, Nestor David Soto, Ashaunna Diggs, Sameerah Bilal-Roby, Saroeun Earm, Kelly Flaherty, Kelly Harder, Nicole Martin Rogers, Suyapa Miranda, Jeffery Robinson, Caroline Taiwo, Shawna Thompson, and Johnna White to the Financial Empowerment Community Council.

Sponsors: Amy Brendmoen

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
12/23/2021	1	Mayor's Office	Signed	
12/22/2021	1	City Council	Adopted	Pass

Approving the Mayor's appointments of Linda White, Heaven Webb, Andrea Zuber, Michael Dahl, Christine Cordell, Nestor David Soto, Ashaunna Diggs, Sameerah Bilal-Roby, Saroeun Earm, Kelly Flaherty, Kelly Harder, Nicole Martin Rogers, Suyapa Miranda, Jeffery Robinson, Caroline Taiwo, Shawna Thompson, and Johnna White to the Financial Empowerment Community Council.

WHEREAS, the creation of the Financial Empowerment Community Council was established as part of the creation of the Office of Financial Empowerment (ORD 19-74; Chapter 2.02 of the City of Saint Paul administrative code); and

WHEREAS, ORD 19-74 requires that the Financial Empowerment Community Council be made up of 17 members recommended by the Mayor and approved by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, ORD 19-74 requires that of the members, at least one will reside or work in each of the 7 Wards, that the remaining 10 seats be selected from the financial, housing, tenants' rights advocacy, and consumer protection industries, that any youth representatives will have reserved seats, that the members will either reside, work, or attend school in the City of Saint Paul, that members reflect the broad spectrum of the City's population, and that membership will be balanced between individual community members and organization representatives; and

WHEREAS, the Financial Empowerment Community Council will monitor citywide financial empowerment metrics and indicator, provide feedback and advice on Office of Financial Empowerment (OFE) partnerships, community engagement, policy platforms, research agenda, and potential grant opportunities, and review the effectiveness of OFE activities and initiatives; and

WHEREAS, these appointees applied to join the FECC and Mayor Melvin Carter wishes to appoint Christine Cordell (Ward 5), Heaven Webb (Ward 2), Ashaunna Diggs (Ward 7), Sameerah Bilal-Roby, Saroeun Earm, Kelly Flaherty, Kelly Harder, Jeffery Robinson, and Johnna White for a two- year term to the Financial Empowerment Community Council ending on December 31, 2023; and

File #: RES 21-1823, Version: 1

WHEREAS, these appointees applied to join the FECC and Mayor Melvin Carter wishes to appoint Linda White (Ward 1), Andrea Zuber (Ward 3) who will serve as Chair, Michael Dahl (Ward 4), Nestor David Soto (Ward 6), Nicole Martin Rogers, Suyapa Miranda, Caroline Taiwo who will serve as Vice-Chair, and Shawna Thompson for a three-year term ending on December 31, 2024; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, Christine Cordell, Heaven Webb, Ashaunna Diggs, Sameerah Bilal-Roby, Saroeun Earm, Kelly Flaherty, Kelly Harder, Jeffery Robinson, and Johnna White for a two-year term to the Financial Empowerment Community Council ending on December 31, 2023;

FURTHER RESOLVED, appoint Linda White, Andrea Zuber who will serve as Chair, Michael Dahl, Nestor David Soto, Nicole Martin Rogers, Suyapa Miranda, Caroline Taiwo who will serve as Vice-Chair, and Shawna Thompson for a three-year term ending on December 31, 2024.